Celebrating Moms Part 2, Meet Jerda

April 07, 2014

Celebrating Moms Part 2, Meet Jerda

Tell us a little bit about yourself

I am a 42-year-old San Francisco native :) who moved to Portland a little over four years ago with my husband and daughter. We love the people, the food, and the real sense of community we feel living here... and we plan to stay for a long, long time!

How many kids do you have and what ages?

I have one daughter, who is 4 1/2 (but has the attitude of a 14-year-old at times!)

What do you like to do for fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love cooking and going out to eat, almost equally. My hobbies (when I have time to do them) are reading, knitting, and trying to keep up with the pop culture buzz. I am a paper product junkie, and I get a little giddy in places like Paper Source or Powell's.

You just went back to work full-time. What are you doing and how has the transition been for you and your family?

About a year ago, I started working just a few days at Gymboree Play & Music. Then recently, one of our staff members left, and she had been working full-time... so I took on some of her classes and increased my work week to 40 hours. I am teaching play classes, art classes, and I co-teach our 2-hour preschool classes. The shift in my schedule has not been so dramatic for the rest of my family, because my daughter was already going to preschool Monday through Friday. She has to stay at school later than she used to, which she doesn't love... but if I can pick her up earlier, she is usually reluctant to leave! The most difficult adjustment for me has been losing that time during the week to do things like grocery shopping or all of that family "administrative" stuff that needs to get done. My husband and I are still figuring out our schedule for things like when does he handle dinner and when do I.

Any tips for other moms thinking about going back to work full time?

The most important tip I have is to cut yourself some slack! I mistakenly thought that I could do everything I used to for our household *and* work full-time, but I just ended up feeling like I was slacking in all parts of my life. Planning is a big part of keeping your sanity (decide what days or meals you can be "on", instead of trying to do it all), and don't forget to communicate those plans to everyone in the family.

What kind of jewelry do you like to wear and why? Which design is your favorite?

I like very simple pieces, like stud earrings and small pendant necklaces. My clothes are usually pretty casual, so my jewelry is too. I really like your Family Collection, with the stamped letters and names.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.