Celebrating Moms part 5, meet Michelle

April 28, 2014

Celebrating Moms part 5, meet Michelle

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I was born and raised in Milwaukee, OR and then stayed in OR to attend Pacific University where I got my bachelors in psychology. In my last year at the school there I met my husband. We moved up to Coeur d'Alene, Idaho in '04 and had a great experience meeting new people and enjoying the beauty of the area. We moved back to Oregon in '10 and are happy to be back!

How many kids do you have and what ages?

I have two little boys, 5 1/2 and 3 1/2

What do you like to do for fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love to exercise and cook for fun. I go to a Zumba class with a fun teacher and lots of great ladies (and men) of all ages. I love to laugh and have fun when I'm there and it's really a great outlet for me. It really helps me center myself and gives me more energy for tackling my busy day. I also love cooking up new recipes and making up my own. It's fun for me to be creative in what I feed my family. 

What's your family thing to do with your kids?

It's hard to pick just one thing I enjoy doing with my kids. I really enjoy taking them to activities I know they really like and to see them happy. We all enjoy going to OMSI, going to swimming lessons, and having playdates with friends. They have lots of energy to burn so I try to keep them active!

You are a stay at home mom right now. What did you do before you had kids and do you plan to go back to work at any point?

In my life before kids I was a social worker. I worked with adults with mental illnesses and developmental disabilities. My last job was working for and with some pretty amazing people and was hard to leave it but I knew that I wanted to stay at home with my baby. I'll probably work part-time when the boys are in school full days but it probably won't be in social work. Although I loved it at the time it's not what I want to pursue. 

Do you make much time for yourself and how do you manage to do it?

I try to make time for myself (what is that, right?!) which is usually while the boys are in preschool and occasional evenings. During my free time I hang out with friends or go to the gym.

You have the initial leaves necklace. What made you choose it?

I love my leaves necklace because it is simple, small, and can be worn everyday. I'm not a big jewelry wearing kind of girl so something simple like the leaves necklace is perfect for me! I also wanted the leaves necklace so I could have my boys initials on it. It is my special way to represent them.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.