Celebrating Moms and Mother's Day... again Part 4 - Meet Erin

April 28, 2015

Celebrating Moms and Mother's Day... again Part 4 - Meet Erin

Next up on our Celebrating Moms and Mother's Day Series is Erin. You may recognize her also, she was one of the models for our Glacier Collection!

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I was born and raised in a suburb of New York City in Northern New Jersey. I attended college at Lehigh University, in Pennsylvania, where I received a BS in accounting. After college I worked in corporate finance on Wall Street for about five years. Because that wasn’t torture enough, I quit my job and decided to go to law school. ;) I earned my JD from Brooklyn Law School and soon after got married and moved to Philadelphia to be with my husband, who was finishing a residency there in emergency medicine and family practice. Eight months after our son was born, we packed up and moved out west to Portland. My husband grew up in Beaverton and has family here, so we decided to try it out!

How many kid(s) do you have and what ages?

I have a son, Liam, who is two and a half. (I know they don’t really count as kids but I also have a dog named Coco, who is ten, and a cat named Gizmo, who is six. J )

What do you like to do for fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love going out for dinner and drinks with my husband and friends, and discovering new restaurants in Portland. Another thing I love is going to wine country and tasting all of the yummy wines Oregon has to offer. There are so many amazing wineries nearby and the vineyards here are beautiful. I also enjoy taking barre and spin classes at my gym, reading novels, and watching a million episodes of something good on Netflix.

What's your favorite thing to do with your Liam?

I actually love going to preschool with Liam. He’s in a two-year-olds plus moms class that meets once a week, and the moms leave the classroom for half an hour to have “coffee and discussion” time. Liam has made a lot of cute little friends and I’ve gotten to bond with the other moms. It’s great to see how happy he is to be at school and interacting with his teachers and classmates.

You are a stay at home mom right now. What did you do before you had Liam and do you plan to go back to work at any point?

Before Liam was born I worked as a lawyer for the federal government (US Department of Labor). Right now I am really enjoying my time at home with him and wouldn’t trade it for anything, although I do sometimes miss a certain higher level of adult interaction. As for the future, I definitely see myself going back to work when he’s older, but I have no idea what I’ll do. I am interested in animal rights law, so maybe something to do with that. I also hope to write a children’s book one of these days!

Do you make much time for yourself and how do you manage to do it?

I really try to! It’s important to find time to do things for yourself that you enjoy, in order to stay sane. I used to be one of those paranoid new moms who never wanted to leave her baby with anyone. But I’ve come to learn that time away is beneficial to both mom and kiddo. Even if it’s just utilizing the childcare at my gym for an hour while I take a class, the benefits are huge.

What do you look for when picking out jewelry? How does it make you feel?

I like more simple jewelry, without a ton of stones or anything, that I can wear every day. I am bad with changing up my earrings and have been wearing the same studs for years. My favorite thing to accessorize with is necklaces. I love long necklaces and layering different pieces. And I love wearing gold in the summertime when I have somewhat of a tan. This is making me want to buy some of your jewelry right now! ;) 


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.